Map
MEDIA SPOTLIGHT

United States Regions

For the complete maps with media resources, visit: http://education.nationalgeographic.com/maps/united-states-regions/

A region is an area of land that has common features. A region can be defined by natural or artificial features. Language, government, or religion can define a region, as can forests, wildlife, or climate. A common way of referring to regions in the United States is grouping them into 5 regions according to their geographic position on the continent: the Northeast, Southwest, West, Southeast, and Midwest. Geographers who study regions may also find other physical or cultural similarities or differences between these areas.

QUESTIONS

- According to the maps, which states are included in the Northeast region of the United States?
 Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- According to the maps, which states are included in the Southeast region of the United States? Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
- According to the maps, which states are included in the Midwest region of the United States? Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.
- According to the maps, which states are included in the Southwest region of the United States?
 Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.
- According to the maps, which states are included in the West region of the United States?
 Alaska, California, Colorado, Hawai'i, Idaho, Nevada, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

For Further Exploration

Interactives

NG MapMaker 1-Page Map: United States

National Geographic Education: MapMaker Interactive

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC

© 1996-2015 National Geographic Society. All rights reserved.